- Local Government
- Police Department
- Impound Hearings
Vehicle Impoundment Information
The Eloy Police Department will impound your vehicle, pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes §28-3511, if any of the following occur:
The driver is involved in an accident and has no insurance and has a suspended, revoked, or cancelled driver’s license (for any reason), or has never been issued a driver’s license
- The driver’s license is revoked for any reason
- The driver has never had a driver’s license or permit issued in Arizona or by any other jurisdiction
- The driver is arrested for extreme or aggravated DUI
- The driver is under legal drinking age and has any alcohol in their body
- The driver was operating a vehicle without a certified ignition interlock device when they are subject to such device
- Furtherance of Human Smuggling
- Street Racing
- Curbstoning - defined as the act of systematically selling or "flipping" vehicles while posing as a private seller. Curbstoning is regulated individually by state governments and is considered illegal in most legislatures.
Retrieving Your Vehicle
Vehicles towed under this statute are impounded for 20 days. However, your vehicle may be released early under the following circumstances and may require a post-towing hearing:
- The owner presents proof that the owner’s driving privilege has been reinstated
- The vehicle was reported stolen at the time it was impounded
- The vehicle is subject to bailment and was driven by an employee of a business
- The owner or owner’s agent was not the person driving the vehicle at the time of impoundment and the owner or the owner’s agent is in the business of renting vehicles without drivers and the vehicle is registered
Post Storage Hearings
To obtain your vehicle prior to the expiration of the 20 days, a post-storage hearing must be scheduled with the Police Department by contacting 520-466-7324.
- Hearings are Monday thru Friday - 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM (Advise front lobby personnel).
- Hearings must be scheduled within 10 days of the vehicle being towed (after the 10 days have elapsed, a hearing will not be granted)
- The hearings are to determine the validity of the impoundment or to determine whether the vehicle may be released prior the end of the 20-day impoundment period
- Hearings are held at the Eloy Police Department, 630 N. Main Street, Eloy, Arizona
- A $150 administrative fee is payable in cash at the time of the hearing; no other form of payment will be accepted
- In certain situations, the spouse of the owner may also enter into an agreement with the Eloy Police Department stating they will not let a driver arrested for extreme or aggravated DUI, or a minor in possession of alcohol to drive the vehicle for one year
- If the agreement is violated, there is no relief available from the 20-day impoundment period
- The vehicle may be released to the lien holder or repossession agent identified on the MVD record before the end of the 20-day impoundment period
Vehicle Retrieval After the 20-Day Period
- After the 20-day impoundment period has expired, you may obtain release paperwork by:
Paying the $150 administrative fee in cash (no other form of payment will be accepted)
- Taking your release paperwork, identification, and proof of vehicle ownership to the tow company and pay any tow/storage fees directly to the tow company by cash, money order, certified check, or credit card
By Arizona law, tow companies are not required to release vehicles after normal business hours; doing so could result in a gate fee. Arizona law allows tow companies to file for an abandoned title to seek ownership of the vehicle if it is left at the tow yard, unclaimed, for more than 10 days past the 20-day impoundment period.
If you have difficulty paying for the tow and storage fees, you should contact the tow company if you wish to retain ownership of your vehicle.